HIStory: Past, Present and Future, Book I


Retired Administrator
Validated XF Owner
2.00 star(s) Rating: 2.00/5 2 Votes
Title: HIStory: Past, Present and Future, Book I
Artist: Michael Jackson
Genre: Pop
Released: 1995

1 - Billie Jean - 4:54
2 - The Way You Make Me Feel - 4:57
3 - Black or White - 4:16
4 - Rock With You - 3:41
5 - She's Out of My Life - 3:38
6 - Bad - 4:07
7 - I Just Can't Stop Loving You - 4:12
8 - Man in the Mirror - 5:19
9 - Thriller - 5:58
10 - Beat It - 4:19
11 - The Girl Is Mine - 3:42
12 - Remember the Time - 4:00
13 - Don't Stop 'til You Get Enough - 6:05
14 - Wanna Be Startin' Somethin' - 6:04
15 - Heal the World - 6:25

CD 2
1 - Scream - 4:38
2 - They Don't Care About Us - 4:44
3 - Stranger in Moscow - 5:44
4 - This Time Around - 4:21
5 - Earth Song - 6:46
6 - D.S. - 4:49
7 - Money - 4:41
8 - Come Together - 4:02
9 - You Are Not Alone - 5:45
10 - Childhood (Theme From "Free Willy 2") - 4:28
11 - Tabloid Junkie - 4:32
12 - 2 Bad - 4:49
13 - HIStory - 6:34
14 - Little Susie - 6:13
15 - Smile - 4:55

HIStory: Past, Present and Future, Book I (usually shortened to HIStory) is the ninth studio album by American recording artist Michael Jackson. It was released on June 16, 1995 by Epic Records. This is Jackson's first album on his own label, MJJ Productions. The majority of the album's tracks were written and produced by Jackson. HIStory was the first album to be released by Jackson since he was accused of child sexual abuse in August 1993. Recorded during late 1994 and early 1995, several of the double album's fifteen songs pertain to the accusations and Jackson's mistreatment in the media, specifically the tabloids. The songs' themes included environmental awareness, isolation, greed, and injustice.

HIStory is Jackson's most controversial album. Jackson was accused of using anti-Semitic lyrics in "They Don't Care About Us". Jackson stated that he did not mean any offense and on multiple occasions denied anti-Semitism. The dispute regarding the lyrics ended with Jackson re-recording them. R. Kelly was accused of plagiarizing one of the album's songs, "You Are Not Alone". In 2007 a judge ruled that the song was plagiarized and the song was subsequently banned from radio stations in Belgium.

Six singles and two promotional singles were released from HIStory: "Scream", "You Are Not Alone", "Earth Song", "This Time Around", "They Don't Care About Us" and "Stranger in Moscow". "This Time Around" was released as a radio-only single, and "Earth Song", "They Don't Care About Us" and "Stranger in Moscow" were less successful within the United States, but were successful internationally; all three peaked within the top ten in multiple countries. The music videos released to promote the songs have become influential. The first disc (HIStory Begins) is a compilation album of previous hits by Jackson, whereas the second disc (HIStory Continues) comprises new material.

The album was generally well received by music critics and was also commercially successful, debuting and peaking at number one in many counties, including the United States, Canada, Australia, France and the United Kingdom, as well as charting within the top ten in Spain and Mexico. The album was certified 6 times platinum by the end of 1996 in Europe, making it the best selling album of the year in the combined European market. The album was nominated for five Grammy Awards, winning one for Best Music Video – Short Form for "Scream". The greatest hits disc of the album was reissued as a single disc on November 13, 2001, under the name Greatest Hits: HIStory, Volume I and has reportedly sold four million copies worldwide as of early 2010.
Nope I don't do his music and change the station when it is playing o_O
I liked some of his very early stuff but when he started going all weird I sort of went off him a bit
Music information in first post provided by The AudioDB