Blood Sugar Sex Magik


Retired Administrator
Validated XF Owner
1.50 star(s) Rating: 1.50/5 2 Votes
Title: Blood Sugar Sex Magik
Artist: Red Hot Chili Peppers
Genre: Alternative Rock
Released: 1991

1 - The Power of Equality - 4:05
2 - If You Have to Ask - 3:38
3 - Breaking the Girl - 4:57
4 - Funky Monks - 5:25
5 - Suck My Kiss - 3:39
6 - I Could Have Lied - 4:06
7 - Mellowship Slinky in B major - 4:02
8 - The Righteous & The Wicked - 4:10
9 - Give It Away - 4:44
10 - Blood Sugar Sex Magik - 4:33
11 - Under the Bridge - 4:26
12 - Naked in the Rain - 4:27
13 - Apache Rose Peacock - 4:44
14 - The Greeting Song - 3:15
15 - My Lovely Man - 4:41
16 - Sir Psycho Sexy - 8:18
17 - They're Red Hot - 1:11

Blood Sugar Sex Magik is the fifth studio album by American rock band Red Hot Chili Peppers, released on September 24, 1991. Produced by Rick Rubin, it was the band's first record released on Warner Bros. Records. The musical styles of Blood Sugar Sex Magik differed notably from the techniques employed on the Chili Peppers' preceding album, Mother's Milk, and featured little use of heavy metal guitar riffs. The album's subject matter incorporated sexual innuendos and references to drugs and death as well as themes of lust and exuberance.

Peaking at number three on the Billboard 200, the album has sold over 15 million copies worldwide and was the Red Hot Chili Peppers' introduction into worldwide popularity and critical acclaim. Blood Sugar Sex Magik produced an array of hit singles including the hugely successful "Under the Bridge", "Give It Away", "Suck My Kiss", "Breaking the Girl" and "If You Have to Ask". Guitarist John Frusciante quit the band mid-tour in 1992 (not returning until 1998) due to his inability to cope with the album's popularity. Blood Sugar Sex Magik was released the same day Nirvana released Nevermind and it is recognized as an influential and seminal component of the alternative rock explosion in the early 1990s.
I don't know this album but a few of the tracks I have heard before, not my all time favourite I must admit
Music information in first post provided by The AudioDB